Antique-Bottles.Net logo
If you are just visiting and found the information you were looking for please contribute to the running costs by making a donation.
Forums : : Register : : Log In : : Log Out : : Help : : Calendar : : Search


email scam?

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
 
All Forums >> [Miscellaneous] >> SCAMS and FRAUDS >> email scam? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
email scam? - 7/28/2009 5:06:40 PM   
Wilkie


Posts: 1199
Joined: 5/2/2008
From: Suisun City, CA
Status: offline
I'm wondering if anyone else besides me has been getting emails from strangers claiming to have a type of bottle that you collect and are asking for certain types of bottles that you just "happen" to have?

I'm skeptical because I got an email last week from someone claiming to own a bar in Scotland and looking for a particular whiskey bottle to display and wanting to deal with me. Then "today" I get an email from a guy in Canada, very similar, asking for for two different beers, one which I happen to have, and claiming to have Jamaica Ginger flasks to trade. Both email had the same "feel" to them, like something fishy going on, and I'm guessing someone is gathering information from our forum here and is working on some kind of scam. Am I paranoid? I really think someone is trying to scam me. The one last week I simply wrote back and said, sorry, I can't help you. Today I answered and asked for pictures of what he has and asked him to tell me a little bit about himself, including how he got my name and email address and how he knew I was interested in Jamaica Ginger bottles. I'm sure he got the information from "here".


_____________________________

www.myspace.com/westernbottles

I buy samples, Jamaica Gingers from anywhere and Northern California hutches, blob tops.
Post #: 1
RE: email scam? - 7/28/2009 6:42:59 PM   
lobeycat


Posts: 6697
Joined: 9/8/2003
From: RED SOX Nation
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Wilkie
Am I paranoid?
Oh without a doubt, no question! That has no bearing on the fact that you should ignore these emails though.

_____________________________

http://youtu.be/YkdOqdpSc0A makes a man cry it does lol.

(in reply to Wilkie)
Post #: 2
RE: email scam? - 7/31/2009 12:02:27 AM   
glass man


Posts: 7554
Joined: 1/30/2008
From: GEORGIA
Status: offline
KINDA SCARY TIM THAT SOME "STRANGER OR STRANGERS" KNOW YOU COLLECT BOTTLES AND EVEN JAMAICA GINGERS! I WOULD BE VERY,VERY WEARY
! AIN'T TRYING TO FREAK YOU OUT,BUT.... BE CAREFUL,SEEMS SOME STRANGERS KNOW A LITTLE MORE THEN THEY SHOULD UNLESS YOU HAVE SENT OUT THE WORD IN A LOT OF PLACES THAT YOU COLLECT ! HARD TO KNOW IS IT BETTER TO JUST PUT THEM UNDER SPAM ,NOT TALK TO THEM AT ALL OR WHAT TO DO! GEEZ I WOULD BE VERY PARINOID IF PEOPLE I DID NOT KNOW OR HAD ANY CONTACT WITH THEMSELVES OR THROUGH SOMEBODY I KNEW STARTED ASKING ABOUT BOTTLES! BE CAREFUL FRIEND. THANKS FOR BRINGING THIS UP! IF I GET ANY EMAILS LIKE THIS I WILL POST IT ALSO! HOPE IT AIN'T COMING FROM HERE! JAMIE

< Message edited by glass man -- 7/31/2009 12:05:57 AM >


_____________________________

LET NOT YOUR HEART BE TROUBLED ! IF YOU NEED A BLESSING OR A SONG THAT WILL PICK YOU UP PLEASE LISTEN TO THIS SONG FROM"VAN THE MAN"MORRISON! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qi4R2YXv_AE

(in reply to lobeycat)
Post #: 3
RE: email scam? - 7/31/2009 11:11:26 AM   
Wilkie


Posts: 1199
Joined: 5/2/2008
From: Suisun City, CA
Status: offline
Yeah, Jamie, I agree. I'm usually skeptical anyway and even more so in a situation like this where the emails were unsolicited, showing up out of the blue like that. I have only posted my collecting preferences in a few places, here and one or two other bottle sites, even an ad or two in the bottle magazines. The magazine ads were several years ago though. I'm just going to assume someone is working on a scam and ignore any more emails I get from them.

I am curious if anyone else has gotten similar emails.

_____________________________

www.myspace.com/westernbottles

I buy samples, Jamaica Gingers from anywhere and Northern California hutches, blob tops.

(in reply to glass man)
Post #: 4
RE: email scam? - 7/31/2009 12:02:42 PM   
GuntherHess


Posts: 11468
Joined: 12/13/2004
From: Frederick Maryland
Status: offline
quote:

if anyone else has gotten similar emails


none here

_____________________________

FREE Online Medicine Guide -
http://www.antiquemedicines.com/MedicineNexus/Nexus.htm

Web Site - http://antiquemedicines.com

Email : mknapp@antiquemedicines.com

(in reply to Wilkie)
Post #: 5
RE: email scam? - 7/31/2009 10:13:03 PM   
ktbi


Posts: 931
Joined: 6/7/2007
From: Vacaville, Ca.
Status: online
None here either Tim, but I have heard that eBay scammers will watch to see if you have a buying preference and hit you with an email like you received.  That could be one other source for their information....Ron

_____________________________

Will Buy/Sell/Trade for for Kidney Embossed Bottles

(in reply to GuntherHess)
Post #: 6
RE: email scam? - 8/5/2009 3:49:27 PM   
appliedlips


Posts: 3396
Joined: 1/30/2005
Status: offline
I run an add on Digger Odell's site and it generates a ton of emails from all over the world offering the exact bottles I am looking for. Delete,Delete,Delete.

_____________________________

LOOKING FOR PONTILLED OR EARLY SQUAT SODAS FROM HIGHLAND,ILLNOIS..

(in reply to ktbi)
Post #: 7
RE: email scam? - 2/19/2010 12:46:35 PM   
athometoo


Posts: 1740
Joined: 9/25/2008
Status: offline
i know when i run a search for bottles on the internet after i post here they show up in the search with a link to this forum . when someone is searching for a bottle and types it in the forum post shows up . maybe thats another way of whoever is looking for you . i still would be very cautious though and ask for their bottles to be received by you before any trading is done on your part .     sam

(in reply to appliedlips)
Post #: 8
RE: email scam? - 2/19/2010 11:55:31 PM   
blobbottlebob


Posts: 3354
Joined: 12/20/2005
From: Wisconsin
Status: online
It might be a good idea to send them a bunch of money or give them your bank routing numbers in case they have any good bottles.  

(in reply to athometoo)
Post #: 9
RE: email scam? - 2/21/2010 6:39:57 PM   
NYCFlasks


Posts: 370
Joined: 9/11/2005
Status: offline
I have received emails like this from time to time over the years, they seem to appear after I have placed wanted/for sale ads and included my email addy.
Not to mention all the bankers/generals/businessmen granddaughters who need to move millions into my bank account.....


_____________________________

SAYVILLE BOTTLES WANTED !!!!!!

(in reply to blobbottlebob)
Post #: 10
RE: email scam? - 2/21/2010 11:36:43 PM   
TJSJHART


Posts: 1209
Joined: 9/10/2007
From: Arizona
Status: online
I'VE BEEN EXPECTING A PACKAGE FROM A FORUM MEMBER THAT I KNOW WAS SENDING IT BY U.S. MAIL I GOT Two EMAILS STATING THAT UPS TRIED TO  deliver a package but there was a problem with the address . when i hit reply up popped a totally different address . i just wrote that i didn't expect anything and not to e-mail me back . two days later i got a notice that my answer was undeliverable address .junked and deleted the mess.

_____________________________

.N.R.A. LIFER

(in reply to NYCFlasks)
Post #: 11
RE: email scam? - 3/9/2010 9:06:05 AM   
suzanne

 

Posts: 688
Joined: 3/29/2009
Status: offline
Watch out for e-cards too.  Someone on the bottle forum sent me one.  (They claim to be a secret admirer or long lost friend)  They have some kind of Trojan-32 virus on them.   Sounds like a prophylactic.  When you click their link you download the virus into your computer.   Anyway, legit e-cards have the first and last name of the sender so you can verify and they don't contain links.

I got the e-mail 2 or 3 months ago. More recently I read that they are becoming a problem for a lot of unwary people.  I'm not computer savvy but at the time I deleted it anyway because the whole content  sounded wierd.



< Message edited by suzanne -- 3/9/2010 9:18:45 AM >

(in reply to Wilkie)
Post #: 12
RE: email scam? - 3/9/2010 10:54:23 AM   
suzanne

 

Posts: 688
Joined: 3/29/2009
Status: offline
I tried to post this reply but it just keeps saying waiting approval -  so I just want to say this - If you get an e-card from someone who says they are a bottle forum member and they are your long lost friend or secret admirer, don't click on the link.  It downloads a virus into your computer.

(in reply to TJSJHART)
Post #: 13
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [Miscellaneous] >> SCAMS and FRAUDS >> email scam? Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Antique Bottles

Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.266