Help with dating this bottle

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Brian Tovin

Reaction score
I recently got into bottle collecting by diving in some of the rivers down south (where I have dove for years for fossils), where steamship landings were. I found this bottle which is clearly free/hand blown. However, I am a novice and want to see if anyone can date it. From the research I have done, it looks like it could be 1700s. bottle.jpgIMG_2670.jpgIMG_2700.jpg

Harry Pristis

Reaction score
I think your French Bordeaux wine bottle dates to the mid-1800s. The cleaner the lip string, the later the bottle.

That is a prodigious kick-up on your bottle. Just for fun, how many ounces of water does the bottle hold? If it's less than the standard 26 ounces, it may have been a "cheat" bottle which contained less wine than apparent.

edit: I'm not certain now that the bottle is not a half-bottle. If so, divide the nominal 26 oz. by two.

winekickups.jpgwinesealedtrio.jpgwine_bordeaux_lip.jpg

Last edited:

Brian Tovin

Reaction score
Thanks for the response. Here is another that I found on the same trip and this is more true "black glass" with and applied top, but I think its not as old as the first one... because the area where the punty rod was put in the pontil mark (not sure if I am using the right terminology) is not as deep.IMG_2702.jpgIMG_2703.jpgIMG_2704.jpg

Brian Tovin

Reaction score
This final bottle I found is probably the least oldest (I am guessing late 1800s) because it is not as dark, the pontil is not as deep, and it is a different shape. By the way, all are free blown as none have mold seams. Thoughts?IMG_2705.jpgIMG_2706.jpgIMG_2707-1.jpg

nhpharm

Reaction score