PDA

View Full Version : Potential Threat to Bottle Diving // Divers/ Snorkelers

coldwater diver
11-30-2012, 06:52 PM
http://animal.discovery.com/fish/river-monsters/giant-snakehead/
I hope I did this right with the link. Im a chef by trade, bottle diver on the side who by the way has had vivid shark nightmares since I was a teenager. The movie Jaws was the catalyst. I get this newsletter letting me know about this Frankenfish (yet another invasive species let loose) that chefs are putting on their menus. It also goes by the name snakehead. This is one scary looking fish that is apparently breeding and getting bigger by the day. It will get as big as a human and is very agressive especially in defense of its young. I cant imagine a fish like this attacking me underwater. I hope they cant tolerate the winter colds up here in Maine. I just thought others might be interested. No catch and release for this fish. Catch and kill please.

epackage
11-30-2012, 07:09 PM
My buddy used to raise them as a kid because we loved watching them devour goldfish. Now worries to you as a diver but they do eat anything and everything fish wise...

coldwater diver
11-30-2012, 07:24 PM
HI Epackage Check out the link they get up to 6 feet max weight 66 lb. They can be agressive to humans apparently in breeding season and to any persieved threat to their young. Some scary pictures on google images. First my Ring Dings now this monster fish as big as myself to worry about.

epackage
11-30-2012, 07:29 PM
The largest one ever caught was about 30" and a warm water species that weighed 18 lbs., that guy on Animal Planet is huge bullshitter when it comes to this stuff, he's just trying to get viewers. Trust me you have no need to worry diving in Maine...[;)]

coldwater diver
11-30-2012, 08:10 PM
Ok But if I get attacked I will find you. [;)]

xxfollyxx
11-30-2012, 08:13 PM