PDA

View Full Version : Pontiled Black Glass

Asterx
01-17-2013, 07:31 PM
Here's a couple pontiled cylinders I purchased from ebay recently. They look to be sand/sticky ball pontiled to me. Also the form of the whiskey cylinder is different. I don't see black glass in this shape really. Any ideas are very welcome as I am not an expert in black glass. Thanks!

https://www.antique-bottles.net/upfiles/11406/C602148658FE4F76B775B2524F069DF5.jpg

Asterx
01-17-2013, 07:32 PM
Here is the whole bottle that the above base is from...

https://www.antique-bottles.net/upfiles/11406/8688453518684A4FBA34F996A44D6E77.jpg

Asterx
01-17-2013, 07:33 PM
Here's a rum type bottle...

https://www.antique-bottles.net/upfiles/11406/5550224858F54C108E926CD2FC157878.jpg

Asterx
01-17-2013, 07:34 PM
And its base. rough and picky to the touch starting about 1/3rd of the way in. Thanks for looking!

https://www.antique-bottles.net/upfiles/11406/D279E8004A0C4A109C84E1F103A1DD83.jpg

RED Matthews
01-17-2013, 09:35 PM
asterisk80. That firs pioture is not an empontilled mark because there are three vent hole cones and it looks like something is embossed. I noted that the full bottle picture under it is no doubt tells me that it could be early machine made. The next bottle is obviously carrying a tooled finish and should have horizontal lines of the tool on the tapered finish surfaces. I say this because the glass neck under the finish looks compressed. The base of that bottle looks like it could have been empontilled, but it has a center vent dot, so that makes me doubt it was empontilled because the punty rod would leave that dot stay there.
That is about all there is I can see. Is there any embossing on the body of the bottles?

Also, I doubt if they are actually black glass as we call some really dark green earlier glass. RED Matthews

RED Matthews
01-17-2013, 09:48 PM