PDA

View Full Version : Girolamo Pagliamo : medicine, grass green color

ND_IXL
01-16-2015, 10:49 PM
I recently purchased this small pontilled med and I haven't been able to find any information about it. The bottle stands 4in tall and is 1 1/4in in width, I would describe the color as a light grass green and there is a very pronounced open pontil on the base, the bottle has an inward rolled lip and is heavily whittled. I'll be posting pics shortly. Any information such as value, rarity, and origin would be appreciated. I'm fairly new to collecting and am focusing on pontilled medicines.
Thanks,
Nick

ND_IXL
01-16-2015, 10:52 PM
Sorry, the bottle reads Girolamo vertically on one side and Pagliano vertically on the other side

ND_IXL
01-16-2015, 10:59 PM
Here are the pics, let me know what you think.Thanks,Nick

cowseatmaize
01-17-2015, 12:37 AM
All I can say is it's Italian, Florence I think. I looked it up some years back and there was info online but in Italian.It looks to be an early one, 1850's maybe.Nice looking bottle.

ND_IXL
01-17-2015, 12:43 AM
Thanks, I was thinking it might be Italian. When I purchased it I at first thought it was American with just an Italian maker simply because it was purchased from an American collection with no other foreign bottles. I payed $70 for it, anyway I think it's an interesting bottle.

cowseatmaize
01-17-2015, 03:00 AM
Just for yuks and wiggles I ran this wiki.Italy through google translate. It states he died in 1881 but I know the name continued for many years afterwards. He was born in Genoa to a family of Neapolitan origin [ 2 ] . Baritone failure , Pagliano had some luck , since 1838 , selling a syrup purgative beneficial properties .