x marks the spot

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

2muchstuff

Reaction score
question? as young man ,an elderly gentlemen with large collection(passed on) SEVERAL YEARS BACK, told me boy you find one(bottle) with makers mark (X) you hang on to it not to many. how true is that, out of my collection I only have 1 pre prohibition.

RED Matthews

Reaction score
Hi 2muchstuff, Your post is an interesting philosophy - I guess I don't know how to pick it up as a quote. Anyway, early bottle blowers and their shop was a closely knit group that were sworn to the secrecy and protection of their trade in sort of a guild type of code of ethics. That is why I have spent a lot of time reading old books that told bits and pieces of how their bottles were made. I have been doing this study for 14 years since I retired from, the glass industry. I spent about 45 years working in the industry, and have traveled to many parts of the world visiting glass manufacturers and assisting them with the application of special mold metals to make their production efficiency of mold equipment time on the machine producing and the life of their mold equipment last longer. It was what I call a vertical type of marketing aimed at a specialized analysis of product failure or success. My efforts were successful.