Stoneware? Schweppes

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

jdye

Reaction score
Dear List,
I have no camera. I have no bottle knowledge except what I read on the web today. I have a bottle. Height 6 1/4 inches, cylindical, , with a sharp shoulder at 4 3/4 inches from which it slopes up narrowing to the neck which has a thick extra piece 7/8 inches high applied at the top of the neck. The bottom is 2 1/2 inches in diameter, very slightly raised in the center so that there is a definite rim on which the bottle rests. There are no mold marks on the sides like glass might have. It is pottery or stoneware with a brown glaze over a gray clay. There was no glaze on the bottom; there are warn places at the lip.
The label, located at the lower edge of the bottle, measures 1 7/8 inches tall by 2 3/4 inches around; is impressed into the bottle as if it had been rolled over a raised pattern before glazing and firing. It has plain straight borders except at the lower left corner and the upper right corner where the word "Schweppes" crosses it in a diagonal in a fancy "font" enclosed in a banner, whereby those two corners are terminated by fancy "S"s. The upper left corner triangle has a crown and the words "TO THE EEN"; the lower left has "TO THE PRINCE OF WALES" with the crest of the Prince of Wales. These markings would have been used from 1841 to 1901. The piece may be common or may have been reproduced yesterday, but it looks old. The workmanship is not impressive. The area where the QU should be is absolutely smooth, not worn. What other questions may I answer?

oz-riley

Reaction score
Hi jdye,
This bottle sounds like a stone ginger beer bottle, hard to date without a picture. Schweppes made a huge aray of glass and stoneware bottles.
I have had a few Impressed Schweppes Stone Ginger Beers and all the ones i have seen have dated around the 1910, 1920 mark.

thanks.
Chris

jdye

Reaction score