What book would you recommend

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

cowseatmaize

Reaction score
I'm a complete novice. Maybe not even novice status but I'd like an opinion of a good beginner guide.
My father has a fire bucket full from when he was a kid. I'd like to learn about them. Unless he traded some I would guess not much of it is earlier than the 30's or early 40's but he may have had some from his father too. I haven't looked at them in 35 years so I have no idea what's there.
The choices on Amazon are many.
I asked this once before and maybe it was answered and I just missed it. I think I asked in the wrong category.
Thanks for any opinions you have.

mr.fred

Reaction score
Schroeder's puts out a good Antiques Book!----i used to be into Candy Containers!!!-got 1 of their books------Good basic info!![:)]. I think in the $ 15--$20 range.

cowseatmaize

Reaction score
Thanks Fred. I guess I forgot to mention that I was asking about a marbles guide. Prices would be OK but I mostly want an ID book. I suppose it would be nice to find there was something of value but that's not really what I care about.
I know there are web sites but I always like to have a hard copy of something.

Digswithstick

Reaction score
Everitt Grist's Big Book of Marbles - A comprehensive identification & value guide for both antique and machine made marbles ,has a new 4th edition out ,have not got it yet but am going to .I have the 3rd edition and it is my favorite .Also -American Machine -Made Marbles - by Dean Six ,Suzie Metzler,and Michael Johnson - A Schiffer book for collectors with price guide - is a good one for information but the pics are not as good as Grist's .Joe Marbles is a great online guide with manufacturers info ,lots of pics and articles .The link is posted in earlier post ,Surfacecone 's link worked my did not.