The May Drug Co

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

JerDfx

Reaction score
Hey guys been awhile since I have been here. I have been accumulating alot of old cellar hole sites while out detecting.

The last 2 spots I hunted gave up early 1800's large cents a 1787 new jersey copper war of 1812 buttons....

I now am ready to start to find the bottle pits in the places. The one site has a very deep well but I don't think I want to venture that far into it. It has another with a solid lid on it also.

I don't have time or equiptment to haul ladders and such deep into the woods. However I do beleive the other site I can just dig them out. I saw a few depressions in the ground that looked to be were they threw all there junk.

I have dug out others this way just by guessing were they were. I'm not a expert in bottles but detecting I can answer any question just about. I like looking for bottles though to. Alot of fun doing it.

Now I can get to the point of this thread. I picked up a bottle today on the surface of one of the sites. It's light pink in color about 5 inches in height and about 3 inches in width. The seem just runs to the bottom of the neck of the bottle. At the bottom of it it has a H in a triangle.

The bottom and the neck seem to have been attached seperately. The front reads The May Drug Co. Pittsburg. I am pretty sure the bottle pre dates the 1890's. I beleive they started using the H on pittsburgh sometime after the late or mid 1890's.

Just wanted to know what you experts thought of it. And maybe you could give me some more info on it. Like is it a common bottle to find. And if this was on the surface what other bottles do you think I may find at the site. And would it be worth doing the work to find them.

Thanks for the help

Jeremy

Picture deleted - please see Help - Using the Forum ---> Uploading a Picture - Admin

JerDfx

Reaction score