Old Dump with a promising "sign"!

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

RIBottleguy

Reaction score
Last week I returned to the dump where I had found my first stone beer bottle. I've been digging on and off there for about five years. My first ventures yielded what most would call junk, so I pretty much abandoned it. That was a mistake! Despite being bulldozed and dug for years, it covers at least 10 acres, so the odds are I would find an untouched spot.
I focused on a promising "mound" near where the stone beer came out of. I decided to dig towards an oak tree, and was surprised to see some color in my hole. Brushing the dirt away, I saw the edges of a porcelain sign! With that strong motivation, I set to work freeing it. I took almost half an hour, since it was completely root-bound and my clippers were terribly dull. I was finally able to free my second sign, a Texaco Motor Oil! It was double sided with the familiar logo. I searched quite a lot online and could not find one in this shape, so maybe it's a rare one?
My digging buddy Mike had to leave after I found the sign, but I pressed on. I had found my first intact milk bottle and a common soda (all sodas and milks I had found in this dump before were broken), so that was a very good sign. Before long I started turning up more sodas, some being blobs. I was dead tired by the end, but it was a pretty rewarding day!

Texaco sign
8277569061_008f2858d3_z.jpg

Bottles!
Back rows: 2 Gladstone Springs Narragansett Pier, L. Capozzili Boston, strap sided whiskey, Jos. Peabody Waterbury Conn. milk, McKenna & Conaty Providence, master ink, J.A. Hebert Central Falls, RI, WBW Arctic RI, olive green English whiskey, Sullivan Bros. Providence, Berry Spring (green), Berry Spring Pawtucket (Aqua)
Front: W.H. Arnold Riverpoint, RI mini blob, 2 amber Wyeth meds, S.B. Goff's Compound Magic Oil Liniment, Antrol, fancy cruet, 2 Bourjois, Paul Westphal Auxiliator for the Hair.