Japanese bottles

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

pchan

Reaction score
First post here, just wanna say howdy to members. I am totally new to all this bottle stuff, couple of weeks ago I found a milk glass jar at a lot that used to have a house on it but was razed to the ground....I like to stop at those as I ride my bike past...so I showed my wife that night and she said maybe there are more...so I went back next day....turned out she was right, I returned for the next few days and dug up around 90 bottles, I mean whole bottles, I encountered uncountable broken examples not to mention pottery shards. We`re in Sendai, some of you may have heard of the city when we had that 9.0 quake and tsunami 2 and 1/2 years ago...we`re close to downtown so the latter missed us but the quake left it`s mark both figuratively and literally... anyways now I`ve been bit by the bottle bug. we collect Japanese antiques and I don`t know why I never thought of bottles till recently but too late now. Anyways, I been searching the web for info on Japanese bottles but so far, almost nothing....maybe there just aren`t many collectors here or nobody wants to take the time to set up a site, don`t know. But, any members here have any Japanese bottles or know of a place to get info on em? Any members in Japan? I doubt the bottles I found are valuable, but as a painter, I love the colors, can`t wait to get back home to Canada and set em all up in a window or something, those cobalts are beauties. A couple of mine are very cool, embossed and from what I`ve read around the net, I`d say they are mostly all from early 20th century, but thats OK, I`m not hoping to get rich, like I said, I`m after the colors and some will find their way into paintings of mine I`m certain. So......kinda long for a first post, some have probably already stopped reading, I need to get pics of the best of my bottles and when I do I`ll post em.

goodman1966

Reaction score