Chero Bottle - Columbus, GA

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

p964

Reaction score
I am new to bottle collecting and just got a bottle from an estate sale that I can not find any information on. The front of the bottle just reads "Chero" but does not have the word "Cola" after it like most of the bottles I have seen have. The bottom of the bottle has "DSN.PAT'D FEB 16-24 LCW" written on it. Is this a soda bottle or just an unusual cola bottle? (not on my personal computer now or I would attach a picture of it). Darryl

Johnnysoda

Reaction score
Does your bottle say "Chero Cola"? If so that was the name Royal Crown cola renamed the company to in 1910 before it was renamed "Nehi" in 1925. When you get to your main PC could you post a picture? Id like to see how your bottle looks :)) Austin

MichaelFla

Reaction score
I believe they stopped using the word 'Cola' about 1921, changing from Chero-Cola to just Chero, due to a lawsuit from Coca Cola.
Somebody please correct me if this is inaccurate.

Johnnysoda

Reaction score
You are correct! I did some more research on Chero and found out that in the early 20s Coca-Cola forced them to name change into just Chero. This caused a company decline and which caused the soda to be discontinued. Then it was brought back in 1924 as "Nehi"

SODAPOPBOB

Reaction score