Newbie here :) what do you suggest to clean my bottles?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Lakelady

Reaction score
I find my treasure under water, usually filled with muck! One time it was filled with a crayfish! Haha. I am wondering what's the best ways to clean them? My mom and I have found about 200 or so. :) I usually use a bottle brush and then eventually run it through the dishwasher but I'm wondering is there a secret to making them look new again?
Thanks! Amy

botlguy

Reaction score
Hi Amy, welcome to the forums. Your cleaning method is about standard except I caution you about putting them in the dishwasher. That could damage them. There is adequate information in these forums archives but I don't have the expertise to bring them forward. Perhaps others will. Basically I suggest water rinse, soak for 24 hours or more in an Oxalic Acid solution (properly mixed) and then a clear water & brush rinse. Make sure temperatures of everything is close. I also carefully use various size wire and green scrubber pads. Jim

Robby Raccoon

Trash Digger
Reaction score