Stodart's Scotch Ale Bottle

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

flyingliger

Reaction score
Hello all,

My scuba dive in the Waccamaw river today yielded some very interesting intact bottles. I am no expert, but love to learn more about my finds.

One of three earthernware bottles I recovered is stamped with Stodart's Scotch Ale. Does anyone have any information about the company or perhaps the bottle's origin. Recovered artifacts must be reported to the SC state museum, so I try to be as thorough as possible.

Thanks in advance for your input!

Robert

Attachments

• 20180613_214014.jpg
    20180613_214014.jpg
    43.8 KB · Views: 295
  • 20180613_214019.jpg
    20180613_214019.jpg
    34.7 KB · Views: 222
  • 20180613_214024.jpg
    20180613_214024.jpg
    27.8 KB · Views: 295
  • 20180613_214048.jpg
    20180613_214048.jpg
    59.4 KB · Views: 294

Old Wiltshire

Reaction score
-
Hi Robert,

Is the pottery mark just visible to the bottom right of the bottle in the first image readable?
My first impression is that it is possibly a British made bottle, many of the British potteries made bottles for export.
I have made a quick search and cannot find 'Stoddart's Scotch Ale' advertised in the UK.
A very nice find by the way!!

Colin

:)

flyingliger

Reaction score
Thank you Colin,

unfortunately the mark on the bottom right is not remotely legible. The fact that I took the photo under extreme light/dark conditions makes it look more substantial than it really is. I also thought that it might be English as I've found a number of plate shards in the same part of the river with maker's marks from 1850-1890 Britain. I thought this bottle might fall in line with items discarded by trading vessels in the area during the 19th century. Also, I too made the mistake of using the name "Stoddart's" in my initial search, but there is in fact only one d in the name. Even Google kept asking, "did you mean Stoddarts?"