Where should I look for bottles on a 1740s property?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

PlaneDiggerCam

Reaction score
Southeastern CT, U.S.A. Also in Adams & York Co,
Since I recently got permission to a 1740s house I wanted to ask where the best places are to look for bottles. There is woods in the back leading to a lake and wetlands and then a railroad. On the right is a small patch of woods with a foundation of a barn or another house. The property used to be a huge farm but there have been apartments and shopping centers put in on parts of the old property.

I have never done any property this old before and want to make sure I cover all the major areas to search for bottles.

nhpharm

Reaction score
In the other house foundation, down any banking or hollow, and in the swamp are all places to look.

RIBottleguy

Reaction score
Quite often they dumped behind barns, also any wetlands near the house. The further you go from the house the newer a dump will be if you find one. Quite often the oldest ones will be 50-200ft. from the house.

Bottlehog

Reaction score