Newbie requiring help please Pepsi Bottle

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

snetboy

Reaction score
Hi all

First time using the forum and looking for help on ageing a Pepsi bottle I found whilst digging out an old hedge.

The bottle has a letter "R" in the middle of its base.

Many thanks

Bob (Norfolk, UK)

Attachments

• IMG_2725.jpg
    IMG_2725.jpg
    59.9 KB · Views: 331

Canadacan

Reaction score
Welcome!...I'm pretty sure these ACL Pepsi's ran from the late 40's? up to about 1958. Not sure what plant the R would represent being the bottle is from the UK.

snetboy

Reaction score
Thank you - hopefully one of the uk forums can help with that!

RCO

Reaction score
was Pepsi common in the UK by then ? doesn't surprise me it was sold there by the 50's / 60's .

is there any dates on the bottom ? most of our pepsi bottles have dates on them

Steve1976

Reaction score
Hi. Newbie here too and also found this under a hedge :) Searched many PEPSI-COLA bottle images but couldn’t find one the same. Though it looks the same as the guys bottle who started the post.

Attachments

• 8F793CD2-9DFB-4100-A80C-B7795B03B262.jpg
    8F793CD2-9DFB-4100-A80C-B7795B03B262.jpg
    39.7 KB · Views: 269

snetboy

Reaction score
Thats the one! Heres the response I had on the UK forum
-
[FONT=&quot]PEPSI-COLA BOTTLES[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Hi Snetboy (Bob?) and welcome to the forum.
-
As you might already be aware Pepsi-Cola has a history going back to the late 19th century which is well documented on many internet sites.
Wikipedia gives a good basic history and is linked at the end of this post.
-
Your bottle has what is generically known as 'Applied Ceramic Label' (ACL) which is not a particularly heavily
collected field in the UK currently but they are very popular in the US, Canada and Australia.
It is on one of the 'basket weave' type bottles which were the subject of a long running thread