bottles are worth less now?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

bottlemania

Reaction score
So, from some of the posts on this forum, and some price guides from 10 or so years ago, I have gathered that values for most bottles have dropped pretty drastically in the past 15 years. Is this correct? Specifically, a guy posted a pic of an opaque bottle he found somewhere on this forum. Someone said 15 yrs ago, that bottle was selling for around 50 bucks, but now around 5. Is E bay the reason for this? Sorry if these are silly questions, but remember I'm extremely new to this. I would like people's input on this and anything else anyone feels like talking about. Thanks.

Paul

bearswede

Reaction score
I would say most prices on all but the most common bottles have risen... As always there will be exceptions, but I don't see any downturn in the antique bottle market...

Ron

bubbas dad

Reaction score
you have to take some price guides with a grain of salt. one that comes to mind is kovels, in my opinion most of the time they are way off, usually to the high side. most price guides give a value for bottles in extremely good condition. the amount of wear and tear on a bottle greatly affects the value of the bottle. like bearswede stated except for very common ones, most bottles have increased in value. you won't get rich but that's not the point of collecting. the biggest reason i've seen for a rare bottle to drop alot in value is when someone finds a cashe of that type of bottle and floods the market.

GuntherHess

Reaction score