another 1858 jar? help appreciated

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

accebr

Reaction score
I'm really new to all this and could use some help!

My grandpa passed away 10 years ago and we only recently got around to going through his mason jar collection. This one caught my eye and I've been trying to date it.

It reads:

MASON'S
PATENT
NOV 30TH

001_zps60a1c736.jpg

The lettering is very evenly spaced and sized. There are NO other markings on it besides a 41 on the base.

003_zpsb2eed4f9.jpg

The lip is not smooth at all, I'm not sure what the word for it is. There are two "seams" going evenly down both sides. There are also air bubbles in the glass and slight vertical striations that you can see and feel. It's a very light blue (teal?) in color.

004_zps29f2c68e.jpg

The pictures could be a lot clearer but if anyone needs clarification let me know. It really is a pretty little jar. Believe it's a pint? I read online that there are a lot of reproductions of this jar. Would there be any real way to tell when this was made and if it is a reproduction or not?

MNJars

Reaction score
Your jar looks legit to me, even though the pictures are a little blurry. Reproductions are usually made in rare colors, or of very rare jars. It looks to be pint size and you mentioned. It looks like a standard aqua color (collectors don't like to use the word teal unless it is actually TEAL, which is a fairly rare color for old glass). Based on your description the lip is probably ground, but we'd need to see a picture to be sure.

This jar was probably made 1880-1900 depending on the lip (ground or smooth), others on the forum might be a little more specific. But either way, quite a lot of them were made, so quite a few survive today.

Nice little pint jar!

accebr

Reaction score