Bentley’s French Dressing

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

vll970

Reaction score
Hi all,
I got this bottle at an estate sale yesterday. There were literally hundreds of bottles but all looked rather common, not that I am an expert. I just liked the writing on this one, it’s local to me, and I don’t have it so I decided to get it. Now I can’t seem to find others like it online. I did find a bit about Bentley and about him working for Torrey then later becoming partner in the late 1880s but I was curious about the content and if it is rarer than I originally thought.
Thank you
6F17D7A0-8FDF-41DF-832F-9405B119F7B5.jpeg

DavidW

Reaction score
I couldn't find a single example of that bottle on the Worthpoint / Worthopedia site, so that would probably mean it is VERY SCARCE!!

Is that a square bottle (like Frank Millers), or rectangular (like Whittemore)? Not sure from your pic but I assume it has a square "footprint" . Never heard of that brand, but it is a Shoe Dressing (shoe polish, leather dressing, shoe blacking) bottle. There are quite a few different bottles out there that have a typical square design like the "Frank Miller's Crown Dressing" which is the probably the most common. I think most of them are from the 1880s and 1890s.

I think they are so interesting and under-appreciated, but they are not avidly sought for and collected now (yet, as far as I know) but maybe they will develop more of a "cult following" in the future. Just to "document" a list of other bottles of that shape on this website, here are some other brand names on similar bottles:

(Can anyone add to this list?) It has to have a square shape (not round or rectangular).

Frank Miller's Crown Dressing / New York / U.S.A.

Saratoga Dressing / Trademark / Restorff & Bettmann / New York / U.S.A.

Saratoga Dressing [no other embossing - this bottle looks older]

Geo. H. Reed & Sons / American Dressing / Boston