curious about my mason jar

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

bigtuskersbottles

Reaction score
I have an aqua colored Mason's jar, the front reads:
Mason's
Patent
Nov.30th
Does that mean thats when this jar was made,thus making it 147 years old?

diggerjeff

Reaction score
that is a patent date. it does not mean it was made at that time. patents were renewable and it could be newer than 1858. im no jar expert ,but we do have a few in the forum. i bet someone else here can give us an idea as to when they quit producing this jar.

woody

Reaction score
Probably the most commonly and longest used closure for fruit jars was the zinc screw cap that closed "mason" fruit jars. This closure was used on the John L. Mason's originated Mason's Patent Nov. 30, 1858 jars as well as many other types of similar jars. Mason's original patent did not cover the cap itself since caps were not a new invention; the patent covered the improved screw threads which gradually vanished towards the top of the finish and the shoulder (allowing for a tightening seal) and the relatively flat shoulder sealing surface.

There were many hundreds of different variations and types of Mason style fruit jars and scores of subtle variations in the cap itself spanning a time frame from 1857 until the mid-20th century, and in modified form, to the present day. The name Mason is still synonymous with canning jars , i.e. a "mason jar."

diggerjeff

Reaction score
if i dont find at least one 1858 mason jar in each privy i dig it is unusual! they are very common , but a nice embossment!!

jarsnstuff

Reaction score