Hazy results

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

justcleaning

Reaction score
Hello Everyone. Hoping someone can help me. I have been tumbling bottles for about 2 years now with very good results. On very sick bottles I start with 1200 grit silicon carbide for 3 days then clean and tumble again with aluminum oxide for another 3 days. With not to sick a bottle I start with 1500 grit silicon carbide. The bottles always come out spotless and shiny. I am using home cut 12 gauge copper wire.

Lately I am getting a few bottles that are very hazy after the final polish. I have not changed the process in any way, am using the same source for the media as usual, and have done these types of bottles before with good results.

I could really use some input. Kinda stumped on this one. 3 times polished with alum. oxide and still hazy.

Thanks in advance. Dennis

JOETHECROW

Reaction score
Northwestern Pa. (Near scenic Lake Perfidy)
I've never tumbled any of my bottles, but read plenty here about it....Could your copper be getting dirty or worn? Just throwing it out there....Perhaps someone wiser in the ways of tumbling will speak up?

P.S.Welcome to ABN! Maybe some pics would help...We love pics around here....[:D]

justcleaning

Reaction score
Thanks Joethecrow. My copper is not new by any means but it is clean. I rinse thoroughly after each tumbling and clean with Dawn dish soap every so often. What has me so perplexed is that it's not every bottle. I tumble 4 to 5 at a time and maybe 1 will come out hazy.

Thanks again. Next time I get 1 out with the dreaded haze, I'll try and remember to get a pic to post.

epackage

Reaction score
Is it possible that the PVC isn't rotating enough or possibly slipping??

andy volkerts

Reaction score