New to collecting and new finds!

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

charlotte49er

Reaction score
Not only do I have some new finds, but I am new to bottle collecting.

First, I'm a gold prospector (I own so much prospecting equipment, i had to go and buy a 6' X 10' trailers!)

Second I'm a relic hunter. I own 5 metal detectors, including one underwater one.

3 weeks ago a friend called me and said he knew where there were bout 40 old bottles and that if I wanted them, I'd better hurry, they were going to end up in a land fill!

My vast knowlege of bottles consist of the fact that i used one when I was in diapers and I love them when Diet Mt Dew are gong out of them! But Ihate seeing anything that might be of value end up in a land fill.

So 3 weeks ago I drove the 25-30 miles to pick the bottles up. They were in a storage shed and he said I could help myself.

I met this charming 70+ yo woman who owned the shed. Turns out, my friend didn't lie to me, he just left out certain facts!

Turns out the woman is my friends Grandmother. My friend was supposed to drive up and box the bottles up and take them to the recycle area of the land fill. I told her what he had told me. We both shared a laugh. I felt like Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn!

There about 60 bottles and they ranged from early 50's thru to mid-80's. I broght tham back to my condo and let them soakd for 4 days and started to work on them. MOST of them cleaned up pretty nicely. 2 Days later, I get a call from my friend, asking me what I said to his Grandmother. I was tryig to think back what I said. I didn't think Ii had used any bad language. Turns out, that she thought there were some omre bottles in storage about the garage! (Now, we have had 26+ days here in Charlotte, NC with 90 degree+ heat and 80%+ humidity!!!) That crawlspace was going to be a sweat box!!