Some porcelain

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Fenndango

Reaction score
Not sure of the makers or U#'s of the two on the left. Just some I dug up that stood out to me. Need cleaning.

Attachments

• PXL_20221219_162319257.MP.jpg
    PXL_20221219_162319257.MP.jpg
    366.6 KB · Views: 81

Hezezilla

Reaction score
I'm still a beginner but to me, they appear to be glass insulators for electrical lines. Usually, I see them in clear or aqua. I have yet to see an amber one like yours. Very interesting. Here's a photo I stole from ebay of an aqua colored insulator. Some people like to collect these so keep an open ear for them. Also, check the base and inside of them for any embossing or maker's marks. Apparently, some companies are highly sought after. I hope someone more experienced than me comes along and gives you a better idea of what you have!

Attachments

• 1671576630802.png
    1671576630802.png
    221.9 KB · Views: 69

Fenndango

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. They aren't glass, they're porcelain uniparts which are categorized by shape/size using U#'s (U stands for unipart). Glass insulators are categorized by shape/size using CD #'s (Consolidated Design). So that's a CD 154 in your photo. Porcelain guides are written by "splitters" whereas the glass guides are written by "lumpers", so I just never got good with the U #'s because the categorization is insane in my opinion. Some people are so good with porcelain they can tell the manufacturer just by looking at the glaze.

Hezezilla

Reaction score