THIS IS THE PROCESS I USE TO TAKE PHOTOS OF MY EMBOSSED BEER BOTTLES

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

UncleBruce

BEER DUDE
Reaction score
Smartphones are very handy, quick, and for certain photos they are more than adequate. I have been using an actual digital camera for over 2 years now and this is my preferred choice for taking a great bottle photo (at least I think they turn out great :cool:). My Canon EOS Rebel has a lot of advantages over a smartphone and bonus it takes stupendous photos. Let's begin.
  • Using the camera to take bottle photos I use the camera's MACRO setting. This setting is for close up shots and will focus more on the bottle itself not the background because it uses a smaller aperture setting. There is also a PORTRAIT setting on the camera that works very much in the same manner.
  • I use the highest quality image available in the camera settings. I never mess with this as I set it to the max when I first got the camera and I take all my photos even the personal ones using this setting.
  • I like to take photos with a neutral background, but that is not necessary. I set the bottle at least a foot away from the background. The further away the object is from the background the less noticeable the background becomes because of the MACRO setting the camera is using.
  • I prefer to take photos using subdued or indirect lighting so I take most of my photos on cloudy days or in the evening with the sun behind trees.
  • Using the subdued light and the MACRO setting will require a tripod to keep the camera steady. This will nearly eliminate the chance of getting a blurry image. I have several different sizes of tripods for different occasions.