Whiskey BottlesLate 1800s early 1900s

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Greg F

Reaction score
Looking for any information. Rariety of certain makers. Best ones to purchase to start a collection. I'm new to it so anything information would be great.

Thanks

CanadianBottles

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum! I don't think that's the sort of question that can really be answered in a forum post. There are thousands upon thousands of whiskey bottles out there. The rarest ones are so rare that you aren't at all likely to ever encounter one (and there are a lot which would fall into this category). For starting a collection I'd suggest to just buy bottles which you like the look of and which don't cost too much. There are no inherently "best" bottles.
Definitely don't pay very much for a Duffy, which is probably the whiskey that you're most likely to come across from that era. Don't pay too much for UK whiskies either, since most can be purchased for very little. They're often beautiful bottles but, at least around here, can frequently be found in the dollar box.
Be careful of bottles with paper labels, because people often put unused labels onto generic bottles and try to sell them for a premium over what the label and bottle would sell for separately. Sometimes they even put fake labels on. A real antique labeled bottle will usually show some obvious signs of wear.
Once you get more familiar with what's out there you'll be able to better recognize the good ones and get a sense for value.

Greg F

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply! I more or less want to stay on the western whiskey bottles. I have seen some are semi common and don't command a crazy amount. I'm all about the embossed stuff so I dont care about getting anything with paper labels.

If you know a few companies that would be good starters outside the duffy let me know. Thanks!

CanadianBottles

Reaction score