Cabot's Sylpho-Nathol

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

snow farm

Reaction score
Greetings all!

I live in Maine and recently bought a property with numerous household dump sites. Today I came across a Cabot's Sylpho-Nathol bottle with a threaded metal lid. The lid was quite degraded, and it crumbled when I gave it a twist. I wanted to have a sniff of whatever was inside - a clear liquid. It smells strongly of petroleum distallate.

My query is..........what was Sylpho-Nathol? What was it used for? Approximate date?

I am having issues with re-sizing my photos and am unable to post a photo. The details of the bottle are:

In raised print on the lengthwise face of bottle is "Sylpho-Nathol," under this is "Cabot's," and lastly, under this is "REC. U.S. PAT. OFF. BOTTLE MADE IN U.S.A."

It's a #2 bottle, as printed on its bottom.

I've found lots of cool bottles here, and while I'm no expert, no, far from it!, I can tell that different eras are represented. My coolest find is a wee little bottle with a plastic lid. It contained a bit of liquid and when I opened it for a cautious niff test, I realized it was perfume...a nice perfume, at that!

So, lots of fun. I am looking forward to checking out this site, and when I solve my technology issue with photos, I will try and post some pics of my finds for your perusal!

Thanks in advance for any info, speculation, or rank opinions! maureen in maine

snow farm

Reaction score
Dude! Google is your friend! I just answered my own question, duh! Well, the Cabot website did.

Smacks herself upside the head!

"Under Cabot's inventive leadership, the company would go on to develop many other outstanding products including a coal tar-based disinfectant called Cabot's Sylpho-Nathol [...]" (www.cabotstain.com/about-us.html).

Duh..........................and, no wonder it stinks!

coboltmoon

Reaction score
Cabot's Sylpho-Nathol was antiseptic and disinfectant even used as douche.