Found this outhouse in the woods

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

solitarycanary

Reaction score
I'm hesitant to dig this hole because the pit follows the 1930 sanitation code. HOWEVER. The old pit next to it had some household trash and ashy soil. I'm imagining that was the pit before they moved it over. And there's another spot my detector found under an old oak tree, not on the creek but still close. It felt soft under my feet and I was surprised to find white and black sand instead of Carolina red clay.

So we have pit 1 under the oak tree
Pit 2 on the creek full of ash and household items
Pit 3 which has the outhouse intact and was probably only kept in case the plumbing went out.

Ideas? I'm an expert in antique glass, I run the forum on reddit for digging
but I have only book knowledge of privys. I've never dug one. I've only dug creeks and dumps. (I'm a 35 year old woman. None of my girlfriends think my hobbies are cool so I'm trying to persuade my husband to go with me!)

Http://reddit.com/r/bottledigging

Attachments

• 7251518a38204074846d0d378676652b.jpg
    7251518a38204074846d0d378676652b.jpg
    83.9 KB · Views: 83

digger dun

Reaction score
Eastern Long Island, metro NYC, Hudson valley NY
It helps to have a digging partner on a privey of any depth. In fact a partner is really a must. I've found a team of three is the best, but having more hands around helps. You will also need a rope and some buckets at least if the pit goes below your shoulders, and some more advanced tools if it down over 15 feet. I don't know how deep they would have went in your neck of the woods, probably like 10 feet max I'd think, like maybe two old barrels stacked on top of each other in depth. Dig it, sister!

Attachments

• 87a08dc8bed84bd59d9c1c1dfe0ed2cb.jpg
    87a08dc8bed84bd59d9c1c1dfe0ed2cb.jpg
    60.8 KB · Views: 82
  • 5bed1b9b0cf14a4dbe93eebba5a0dd1f.jpg
    5bed1b9b0cf14a4dbe93eebba5a0dd1f.jpg