Hitting the right spot!

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

YoungDiggerAlex

Reaction score
Ive been digging an old farm dump from around 1870 or so. I am now starting to find alot of zinc mason jar lids, old green milk bottles and some cork tops. But after digging for a while I am starting to hit nothing!! Should I keep digging deeper, or try a different spot?

GuntherHess

Reaction score
If the dump actually goes back to the 1870s stuff could be found pretty deep.
But if you are hitting undisturbed soil with no debris in it there probably isnt reason to dig deeper. Use a probe to feel for deeper glass.

YoungDiggerAlex

Reaction score
Thanks for responding!! I am new to digging, but the only thing that confuses me is the dump is very large... so I am not sure to go to a different spot or stay. The farm has stayed in the same family since it was built so I know there has to be some good stuff SOMEWHERE!![:)]

DiggerBryan

Reaction score
Hey Alex, Can you post a picture of the green milk bottles? If is the round embossed style they go for big, big money. It is in the HUNDREDS!! I have one somewhere but I will have to search for it. I will post a picture later.

YoungDiggerAlex

Reaction score
Here is a picture of the 3 that I found whole. The one on the left only has a marking on the bottom of a triangle, the one in the middle says W&CO and the one on the right only has a marking of a triangle on the bottom. Do you have any idea on a date? I am getting discouraged quickly[:mad:] Also I cannot seem to get the film off of the bottles? Any help would be awesome!!

Qo39894.jpg

KentOhio

Reaction score
Hi Alex,
Those aren't milk bottles, they're called "wax sealer" fruit jars. They took a tin cap and then to seal it, you'd pour wax in the groove. The film comes from being buried, and pretty much the only way to get it off is to have them tumbled in a cleaning machine.