NEED HELP ON VALUE OF THESE BOTTLES

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

NyDigger1

Reaction score
Ok, i collect nyc stuff, Im a college student and money is tight nowadays. But ive been recently presented with quite a few offers for nyc stuff that I need to have in my collection. Problem is I dont have enough.

3 years ago I bought these 2 bottles in an antique store, when I didnt even know what the word pontil meant. I was the type of collector that wanted anything made out of glass, and nyc stuff on top of that. So I paid $2 each for these. Found out theyre pontil later. 1840s nyc meds with full paper labels, and not even worn, people have told me these were the nicest examples of pontil labeled bottles theyve ever seen, especially 1840s...

Now the problem, I might have to sell one of them to be able to afford my other conquests in the hobby.
Both are aqua, one has 95% of the label, the other has 99%. Ive gotten offers from between $800 each to $3500 each. How much are they worth honestly? And if youre interested in them let me know Ill keep you in mind, im going to make the decision within the next few days...

4203430_orig.jpg

cyberdigger

Reaction score
I'd track down the source of the $3500 each offer and seal the deal..!

cyberdigger

Reaction score
Bummer.. if that offer was made before 2009, you might not see another of its caliber again.. or not until you don't need cash again.. [&:]

NyDigger1

Reaction score
I know, im surprised no one else responded to this post, last time i put up just the pic people were jumping all over it

surfaceone

Reaction score
Hey Mike,

These look like they are some nice pieces of early New York druggist history. I'd like to see a better photo of both labels, please.