New to forum and to bottle digging

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

thebaronjp

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm new to bottle collecting and digging. If anyone could help share their experience on finding places to dig etc and how to get started I would really appreciate it! I live in Vancouver Canada

hemihampton

Reaction score
Welcome. Are you looking for dumps to dig or Privy's? LEON.

Robby Raccoon

Trash Digger
Reaction score
Welcome to the Forum and hobby. :) I go searching for ruins of old buildings like foundations and still-extant structures-- especially dirt floors-- to poke around in, go into the woods near older homes in search of household dumps (often seen as raised mounds or piles of glass and metal,) and go into the lake where it was used back in the day but has little to no use now as I search with surf-mocked feet sliding along the bottom in a pattern. The last one is unlikely for you due to temperatures. lol. Walking around, I look for glass shards-- hopefully embossed or blob tops-- and begin to poke around a foot or so down with my shovel. If nothing turns up, I move on. Else I keep digging. Privy-diggers keep digging down to the bottom, though. I just cannot find an intact privy, and instead find only "trash-pits" going down 2 - 4 feet.

thebaronjp

Reaction score
@hemihampton

I am interested in both but need to get a probe for the privies. I have dug a few forest dumps. Fun for sure and am hoping to find some older sites.

thebaronjp

Reaction score
Spirit Bear said:
Welcome to the Forum and hobby. :)