newbie here? PICS

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Reaction score
I recently found about 100 old bottles. Some with raised lettering. All with glass stoppers. As far as I can tell they are from the early 1900's and earlier. Some are marked pat. March 25 1879 Whitall-Tatum Co.
My question is how to clean them without breaking/ruining them. And how to get some of the glass stoppers out that are stuck. I have soaked them in warm tap water and then putting cold water on the stopper and that got most of them loose.
My final question is how to aquire a tumbler or how to build one. I am new to the antique bottle world so I would appreciate any feedback!! Thanks In Advance!
Casey H.
SW MI

Ec89646.jpg

Attachments

• Ec89646.jpg
    Ec89646.jpg
    79.5 KB · Views: 129
Reaction score
RE: old chemist bottles*pic added

here is another picture its most of my bottles

Rp42116.jpg

Attachments

• Rp42116.jpg
    Rp42116.jpg
    75.1 KB · Views: 131

drjhostetters

Reaction score
RE: old chemist bottles*pic added

Hey Duke...
Welcome to the forum...nice collection of bottles...look mostly like meds and apocrophy(sp.) bottles...but I was told recently that each glass stopper is ground to fit the particular bottle it was in....??? You may have decreased the value of your bottles by mixing them up...am I right fellow forum members? (Please correct me if I'm wrong in my observation.)
And be careful if they have any contents...age may have caused a chemical reaction that could be fatal...caution is advised...

Happy hunting...

The Doc...[X(]

Reaction score
Hey Doc
Thanks for the info
how should I go about cleaning them.
Cause top openings are so small,help anyone.

And the stoppers I marked the ones that were in the bottles the other ones were just laying in a box so yhat might take awhile to match them up hehe.

Should I buy a tumbler?

Anyone from SW MI.
THE Duke

diggerjeff

Reaction score