New here, digging in ash pit.

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Hladnopivo

Reaction score
I've been digging in an ash pit & making some decent finds. I'm new to hunting bottles, but I've hunted for arrowheads for years. (Looking for arrowheads, I don't excavate... Just find 'em on the surface... But it's trained my eye to pay attention to minute changes in the soil & stones.

Long story short. There are some old stone foundations out in the woods. I've seen pottery sherds & coal out there for years.
I dug some test pits and stumbled upon some fairly decent finds. Many are, sadly, broken!

Listen to these heart breakers:
Dr. Fahrney's Old Reliable Home Preparation for Home Use, Henry K Wampole, Van Duzer's extract, Karl Hutter Beer, a green HANBURY SMITH VICHY WATER bottle, Hinds Honey and Almond Cream, 2 c. 1890s Kilner Bro's glass co. mineralwater bases embossed "KBLᴰ". (both manufactured at the Thornhill Lees plant in Dewsbury, Yorkshire, England between Leeds & Huddersfield.)
Torpedo bottle bases!
And many varied bottle finishes (blob, flared, straight, double ring, mineral, crown, whiskey, extract ring, patent, prescription, oil, brandy etc...)

But there were some intact bottles!
Voilà!
IMG_3323.jpeg

1 Eagle Brewing Co of New York
1 Jacob Ruppert Brewer
1 Bailis Bros (sadly broken but kept anyhow)
1 Van Duzer's extract
1 Lysol
1 Lysterine
1 Carbona
1 Larvex
1 Mentholatum jar
2 aqua-colored bowling pin shaped mineral water bottles.
Some Owens, Owens-Illinois & other unlabeled pharmacy bottles, & some unlabeled household products like ink.

I'm trying to identify the mineral water bottles. They are aqua colored, crown finished, thick bodied, have mold scars & lots of bubbles. I think that it was made with a key-and-hinged two piece mold.
IMG_3364.jpeg

IMG_3372.jpeg

In addition to the bottles and some clay pipe stems, I also found an old pocket-watch!
IMG_3377.jpeg

Overall great dig!