An Orange Crush Bottle of A Different Shape

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Northlandfox

Reaction score
I found this Spiral Orange Crush bottle a few months back. I have been collecting and studying Orange Crush bottles for several years now, and I have never seen this variety of Orange Crush bottles before. I am guessing it is one of the later bottle designs, probably Regional, from the 1970s. ALC is similar to that shown on the Canadian bottle Fig 18, page 90 of Michael Rosman's book "Krinkly to Mae West."

I am wondering if anyone else has come across a bottle like this one.
This article talks about James Nash who developed a stippled pattern "suggesting the skin of the sun ripe orange that went into the making of Orange Crush" that looks like that. Almost like an orange peel around the bottle. Time period 60'-70's https://www.angelfire.com/yt/soda/Rosman-OC-MaeWest.html

Initially mention draped bottles with the stipple yet about 3/4 down they talk about the entire bottle although the pictures aren't that good. Seems closest to it. Just have to match shape, label, type.

One listing online calls it a bubble grip but looks the same.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20240329_191427_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20240329_191427_Chrome.jpg
    417.7 KB · Views: 21

mrosman

Reaction score
Ray, your spiral bottle with the stippling is certainly unique and one that I have never seen before. It does have some resemblances to the Canadian bottle shown on p.90, Fig.18 of my book, but only in the diagonal of the word Crush. There is a hint of stippling but certainly not that spiral configuration in your bottle. There are as well other differences eg. bilingual, flowers etc. Your bottle is certainly unique and an uncommon to rare find. Await other opinions.... Mickey

RNorwood

Reaction score