Fake Codd Bottle?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

scottf

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to bottle collecting and a while back I started gobbling up all the codd bottles I could find at the antique malls ;-) I was traveling in the panhandle of Texas last weekend and found two codd bottles at a cheap price so I bought them. After getting them home and looking at them I realized that on the bottom of both bottles is etched "2000" ???!!!!! The front of the bottle says "Victory"

I thought Codd bottles were no longer produced after the 1930s but I think I was "had" on this purchase. Does anyone have experience with any fake (or new) Codd bottles? If so, can you tell me what to look for so I know I'm getting an old bottle?

Thanks in advance!

IRISH

Reaction score
Hi scott, welcome to the forum.

Those Codd's are not so much fake as just modern, they are Indian and probably not a lot older than 20 years or so. If you compare them to your old codds you will see they are a lot thicker in the base and have an odd bottom and industrial marble thats different to the normal codd one.
Nice to have an example of them anyhow as lng as you didn't pay to much for them.

PS they still use codd's in China and Japan [:)] .

scottf

Reaction score
Thanks Irish.

I did not know that Codd's are still being used. I read somewhere that the use was prohibited due to sanitation issues. I guess China and Japan do not have these concerns ;-)

I'm fascinated by Codd's because I think the design was ingenious. I didn't pay a lot for these Codd's so I will still enjoy them.

Thanks again.

sikakila

Reaction score
Soooo..ya like codds huh?? Me too, we have in excess of a couple hundred different makers of antique codds here in NEW ZEALAND, my collection of them dont look so bad!! keep diggin mate~ya never know what ya gonna find !

IRISH

Reaction score