Frosted Glass Inkwell - late throwaway, or just a different glass type?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Sitcoms

Reaction score
Well, after a nasty injury this week at the dump (a nice deep gash in my hand), taking some time to look over some of my finds from this year. Dug this up from a river site with mainly 1920s and early 1930s items (bottles dated to 1926, license plates to 1930-32), and it's definitely different. I assume it's an inkwell given the shape/size, but the glass is definitely different than I'm used to. These pictures are after a superficial cleaning with water and a sponge, but no acids/etc. have been applied.

I studied the glass and if there's a seam, it's very light. There are two marks on two of the corners, but I can't tell if they're mold seams or just the refraction of light through the glass. I can not see any seam marks on the neck/lip. There is a small mark on the bottom, but no maker's mark or other identifiable marks. Glass has two bubbles in it - small one on the base and a larger on one of the panels. The glass is definitely not as smooth as the traditional Carter's inkwell I used for a size comparison in the last photo.

Anyone got a clue? This one's got me a bit stumped. Pictures below.

image0 (3).jpeg
image1 (4).jpeg
image2 (4).jpeg
image3 (2).jpeg
image4 (3).jpeg
image5 (2).jpeg
image6 (2).jpeg

CanadianBottles

Reaction score