Info on privy, probe etc.

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Anthonicia

Reaction score
Well, I am helping a guy demo a 1880's house that has an original privy. He is gonna let me dig it up but I've never done it before. All I know is what I've read here over the past couple of years. My question is what all do I need equipment wise? Like shovels, barrels, etc.?

I need a makeshift probe in a hurry too so I can know exactly where the hole is. Do they sell steel rods at advance I could fashion into a probe? How would I rig the handle up without welding?

Basically just need to know everything I need to get the job done as cheaply and fast as possible. He is building a garage over the privy area on march 7. So, thanks for any advice everybody. If your gonna be in the eastern McDonald's area next weekend swing on by and help if u want. Not that old of a house for new England area, buy it is one of the oldest your gonna get around here. Nothing still stands here from before the civil war that I know of.

rpinkham

Reaction score
HI, There are a few guys who fabricate them. I made one by simply buying a tile probe and welding a bead a few inches up from the tip. Works OK

Anthonicia

Reaction score
Oh yeah? Pick one up at lowe's or home depot? Meant to say eastern N. Carolina, not eastern McDonald's. Stupid auto-spell.

Wheelah23

Reaction score
tile probe

Typing that in actually gave me some good results. I imagine with very little modification, a tile probe could be a makeshift privy probe, though there's no substitute for the real thing.

Tile_Probe.jpg

From here

RedGinger

Reaction score
The book you need is on this page. Even though I already dig, this book is fun and informative. Eddie is a nice guy and knows what he's talking about.

druggistnut

Reaction score