Just an introduction

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

adshepard

Reaction score
Just wanted to say hello and introduce myself. I live in Connecticut and spend a great deal of time in Massachusetts and Maine. My favorite hobby is scuba diving.

I'm quite new to bottle collecting having just begun this summer. The bottles I have were all found while scuba diving in New England. I dive many spots that were the sites of old ferry and steamship piers dating back hundreds of years. The sites have offered up plenty of bottles and additionally old clay pipes.

I have found two rather nice bottles in the last month. One is labeled "Mrs S. A. Allen's, World Hair Balsam, New York." The other, my favorite, is labeled "Dr. Manly Hardy's, Genuine, Jaundice Bitters, Bangor, ME." I have little clue to the value or age of the bottles and if anyone has some idea I'd appreciate it.

I have found a number of interesting sites on the Internet related to bottle collecting already. It's an entire new hobby that I think I'm going to enjoy.

Alan

woody

Reaction score
Hi Alan and welcome to the forum.
Is your Mrs. Allens bottle in the amber or amethyst color?
Amethyst botlles tend to command a higher price than the amber ones, which are fairly common.

adshepard

Reaction score
Woody -

The bottle is amethyst. Found it buried in the mud in about 40 feet of water off Eastport, Maine.

Alan

Pontiled

Reaction score
Hi Alan and welcome to the Forum. Your Allen's bottle in amethyst is much, much scarcer than any amber variety. You have started collecting with a bang! Keep pulling them out. You never know what will be next! Maybe a cobalt-blue gallon sized Harrison's Columbian Ink! By the way, I wrote a book on clay tobacco pipes; did you find any unusual ones?

adshepard

Reaction score
Mike -

Thanks for the welcome.