LOCAL DIGGING??

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

LEANBACON

Reaction score
Hello all. Hope everyone has gone digging lately. Was just wondering if anyone knows of any sites that might be good for digging in the NYC area. I'm new to bottle collecting and would love to start digging. if you live in the area,i would gladly be someone's assitant if you need one. Up until now,i've only found bottles while diving. i'd like to start digging on land for a while. any info, greatly appreciated

Tandy

Reaction score

[:)] Hi LEANBACON,
being an Aussie and multi kilometres away, I am not able to assist you in finding somewhere to dig in New York City, but I can offer a form of collecting that you may not have considered.

It is called mud treading.

To do this mud treading, you need access to an old port where there are mangroves and relatively shallow water. We have a couple about 250+ kms away, which have given up many fantastic bottles. In the early days of both our histories, ships would have used these old ports, and the sailors on board would have thrown their bottles overboard, to float for a while and then sink. Gradually, due to tidal action and storms, many of these bottles migrate towards the beginnings of the mangroves.

We tend to wait until the lowest tide occurs, and then walk out into the sea so we are in water up to our chests. From here on, just walk up and down, using your feet to search for bottles. If they were thrown overboard, they should be there for you to tread on.

I strongly suggest that you wear strong "Adidas" type shoes and long socks. There may well be broken glass there also. You will probably find modern bottles there also, but the best bottles will be at least 150 years old, black, clear or green glass and quite possibly embossed.

As there must be an old port that would fit the description, I wish you all the very best of luck for summer mud treading.

[:)]

LEANBACON

Reaction score