Looking on coral islands

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

crkgrl

Reaction score
I have been vacationing on some coral islands for a couple of years and trying to satisfy my quest for the hunt, while there. Through much research I have located some old homesteads on my island and walked about them. Becaues of the impermiability of the coral, there isnt much digging.

I wonder what they would use for privies? Any hints on finding privies or other potential bottle areas? The old dump has been built upon, I believe. I have found some newer sites on backroads. There are some old cisterns around also. In the water itself, is always an options and I have a couple of offshore islands I would like to check out. Open to suggestions.

capsoda

Reaction score
Old cisterns are always prime places to look,also look for old wells. Metal detecting the beaches is also a good idea as coins and such will roll in and out with the waves. I wouldn't go down a cistern or well with out a second. Snorkeling may also turn up some good finds.

crkgrl

Reaction score
Thanks for the help.

I found a site with both from a chance meeting with an old timer. Since he was into bottles, he may have picked the cisterns and wells pretty clean. The interior of the wells and cisterns are open, somewhat shallow, and now filled with leaves, dirt etc. They are maybe 3-5 feet deep.

Do you usually just go in and start poking around or are there other secrets? I have been warned about not going alone, but so far have found no one to attempt it with me. I will work on that. What are the dangers? Getting in over your head literally, I presume, and not able to get out? Any others? Guess I could tie a rope to my waist and a tree. Sounds like another great adventure.

CanadianBoy

Reaction score