need info on this bottle

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

cglisson01

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm new to the bottle collecting hobby. I picked up this medicine bottle at the flea market today for 7.50. Hopefully I didn't get ripped off. It is a light pinkish/purple color. It's heavily embossed with "drugs hunters handles the best Fort Myers, Fla." On the side, and "Pat.App'd.For" on the bottom. Any info will be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 216fa77e56d04b4db839216d235e064f.jpeg
    216fa77e56d04b4db839216d235e064f.jpeg
    55.2 KB · Views: 78

andy volkerts

Reaction score
That would be a fair price for it. I presume that there no chips or cracks or scratches on it, at least doesn't look like any. Is there a mold mark on the sides of the lip that goes up to the very top of the bottle??? If so, it is probably around 1910-1920 in age. if there is no mold lines, then it is what is called a tooled top, and may be as old as 1890. It is what is commonly called in the bottle hobby as a prescription drug bottle, as most anything could be put up in this type bottle. these are fairly common types of bottles, but some in out of the way towns bring some big bucks. If you are going to start collecting these I would recommend getting the prescription bottle bottle book. I am not sure of the title, but somebody on here does know, and hopefully will tell us. Welcome to the forum, and this fascinating hobby we call antique bottle collecting.......Andy

botlguy

Reaction score
I do not know the specific rarity / value of the bottle but you definitely didn't get "Ripped Off". It appears to be an early 1900s pharmacy bottle in an attractive form. The color is a definite plus. I hope that you are not one of the "One Post Wonders" we get a lot of, Welcome to the forums and Please bring us pix of your future finds.

cowseatmaize

Reaction score