new guy needing help

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

sc delineator

Reaction score
I am so wet behind the ears with bottle collecting that I am leaving a trail of water behind me. Haha, that was stupid, but you get the picture. Where is the best place to start to find out about….well, where to start? I do environmental work for a living so I am always in the woods coming across a old house from who knows when but just recently I entered the hobby. I have noticed in the past that very near to these old houses there will be a dump area (evident by trace amounts of surface trash) and I figured these areas will be the good for a beginner like me.

I guess im asking what is my first step? I live in myrtle beach, sc and all the land, even undeveloped, is private and u will get shot if you cross the line.

I am doing some environmental work on a property in SC (currently a county baseball field) and recentlt discovered by doing test pits with a trackhoe, that there is about 6 feet of garbage under the surface. After talking with the city folks, i discovered it was an unregulated landfill for several decades. several bottles from teh 50 and 60 were uncovered during our test pits and that, for what ever reason, got me so pumped up about huntin old bottles I cant contain myself. But i want go find older bottles. This is like crack. I have never instantly became so addicted to a hobby in my life.

I am ready and willing to dig to china, but I dont know where to look or how to get on the property.

any help?
Thanks guys

toddrandolph

Reaction score
It seems we have a few environmental/wetland delineation folks on the forum. Aside from construction/demolition work, it's a great way to find bottles and get paid for doing so. I have found lots of bottles over the years on wetland delineation sites, and gained access to private properties that would otherwise be inaccessible.