site of my first dig

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

ilyaz

Reaction score
This is my second post on this forum. The 1st one was this https://www.antique-bottles.net/forum/First-post%3A-an-unexpected-find-during-creek-clean%2Dup/m-460320/tm.htm about some bottles we found with my son while on a volunteer clean-up last weekend. I am totally new to bottle collecting so I am slowly going through them and cleaning them. I started by using a lot of hot water, dishwashing liquid and a toothbrush. Got pretty far but still have stubborn grime to clean. Then I found this forum so now I need to find me some copper wire to cut... [:)]

Anyway, decided to go back today and take some photos. In part to record the details, in part to get some thoughts from all of you experienced diggers on what else that steep bank can be hiding.

Here's one view of the place:
site01_view1.jpg

Here's another from a different angle.At the bottom there were several large beams all twisted. I guess whatever they were supporting eventually crashed into the creek:
site02_view2.jpg

This one shows one of the holes we left when we pulled out the bottles. Above the hole is some really really rusted steel -- was falling apart in our hands: There was a lot of mixed steel, glass, pieces of ceramic tile etc there:
site03_bottle-hole-and-metal.jpg

Here's some steal beam or a similar structure covered with glass shards. The strange thing was that these shards looked like they were glues to the steel -- I could not rip any off:
site04_steel-with-glass.jpg

Here's a view from the bottom. How likely is it that if I continue digging at the bottom the tree -- together with the soil underneath it will come crashing down?
site05_view-from-bottom.jpg

Here's another "hole" photo + a broken bottle:
site06_bottle-holes-broken-bottle.jpg

So what do you guys thing this site was? A dump?