"The Mar-Cola Co." with Eagle & Stars, Bessemer, Ala.

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

elliott 123

Reaction score
Hoping someone can shed some light on this straight side aqua embossed soda. As dug with dirt from the eighties.

Is it a fairly common bottle? Are there other variants? Other colors? Was Mar-Cola one of those companies that tried to compete with Coca-Cola? What is the best way to clean these old bottles? Help. I'm a newbie. :)

Eagle on front. Four stars around shoulder.
Above eagle: "The MAR-COLA Co."
Around base: BESSEMER, ALA
On shoulder: CONTENTS 6 1/2 OZ.
On bottom: MAR COLA
20230830_194827.jpg

20230830_194838.jpg

20230830_194854.jpg

Last edited:

Hezezilla

Reaction score
Check the neck for a line (called a mold seam). If it disappears short of the lip, it is most likely a pre-1910 bottle. The type of lip on this bottle is called a "crown-top" because of the bottle caps. They started making these around 1900-1905 and still use the same style today. I've never seen this bottle before but if my memory serves me right, bottles from Bessemer Alabama are much more sought after than those from Birmingham. A lot of bottles from Alabama pre-1920 certainly copied Coca-Cola. Most people back then were illiterate so if it looked visually similar or had a similar name, their beverage could ride off of Coca-Cola's popularity. Chero-Cola and Ala-Cola are two other common Alabama brands from this era.