total newbie needs help

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

vll970

Reaction score
Hi guys, I am completely new to bottle collecting but after researching a few finds from a local yard sale of a lady who collected bottles all her life and had some very cool stuff I bought, I got completely hooked. I really need some help though. I am not sure how to go about finding places to dig. I read a few posts that talked about detectors, but forgive my stupid question, how do you find glass with a metal detector. I even took a walk through the old landfill today. It's just a giant pile of dirt and nothing is sticking out. I live on a small island off the coast of MA and as the place is quite old and has a still existant Indian tribe, I thought it may be a good spot for bottles. A friend of mine found a hole with about 30 identical bottles years ago while hunting along one of the preservation society trails but can not remember the site. He said they were just kind of sticking out. Is this common? He gave me a handfull of these bottles - very cool little guys, look like medicine bottles, all have 79 embossed on the bottom. What could the 79 be? Any help to start me off on my search would be greatly appreciated. This is the coolest hobby ever..
Thanks.

JohnRoy

Reaction score
Find an old topographical map of your island. What is the name of it, btw? I will try to find something online for you. Seems like I saw a story on cable about a tribe still living on an onine off the coast of MA.

My father was 100% American Indian. I am 50%. If you find an old enough indian, perhaps he/she could direct you to some old home sites.

-John Roy

P.S. If you find a digging partner, make sure it is not one who will not have you stranded once you come out of the bathroom. Digging takes a lot of work. Bottles don't come popping out of the ground. Sometimes you have to have imagination to see beyond 100 years of natural growth.

cowseatmaize