What Tools Do You Use To Dig?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

strataman4

Reaction score
Hello All,

I am new to bottle digging and wanted to get some opinions on what tools are best to dig with out in the field. I figure anything that is metal when it comes in contact with a bottle underground it would surely break it. Does anyone know how to prevent this problem? I am currently working this dump site and I basically use a crow bar end and pick to clear the hard dirt in between since bottles pop up here and there and are not all in one pile where I can just go really slow and find one bottle after another. Any suggestions would be helpful. Let me know what your guys approach is to digging a site and with what tools. Thanks Again.

- John

Tandy

Reaction score

Hello, strataman4,
I personally use an ordinary garden fork and a V ended shovel. I would also recommend a probe. Good luck with your digging.

bottlerobin

Reaction score
Hi John
My digging buddies and i use shovels,forks and sometimes a heavy pick if metal or to clear an overhang.
But remember that if your digging deep please have someone with you.
Good luck on your digs.

Robin

LaidBackJack

Reaction score