German First World War Trench Find…

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Laird of Camster

Reaction score
Hi Ladies and Gents,

Am new to the forum, this being my first post.

I have no knowledge of the subject so please forgive my ignorance. I happened across this item which I thought might be of interest?

Total long shot, but is it at all possible to ascertain anything more about it? Which brewery it came from, etc? (I assume it is a beer bottle?).
I found it in the location of the First World War, German third line trenches between Thiepval Memorial and Leipzig Salient (of the first day of the Somme fame).
Interestingly the same German dug/held that part of the line between 1915 and when the Allies captured it in October 1916. This unit being the 26th Reserve Division. This division was formed from men recruited from Württemberg. If you click on the link, you’ll see that the Wurttemburg coat of arms is the emblem on the shard.

(If only it could talk!!)

So over to you guys, can anyone offer any further information about it?

Many thanks in advance.

Attachments

• 1E99F03B-8819-4A84-AA63-C3217DF7352E.jpeg
    1E99F03B-8819-4A84-AA63-C3217DF7352E.jpeg
    213.8 KB · Views: 97
  • D1DF6977-2809-4D8E-99F5-0DE708925CCE.jpeg
    D1DF6977-2809-4D8E-99F5-0DE708925CCE.jpeg
    153.4 KB · Views: 102

CanadianBottles

Reaction score