Amber jar lid - is it a good one?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

akronmarbles

Reaction score
Found this at the dump today - amber jar lid with raised center nipple. It is inscribed "PATENTED MAY 25 1886"
Nice amber glass. Is it a good one? It does have a small chip on the bottom side.

7C6E3EFCDA894085858358F3436FEEF5.jpg

Attachments

• 7C6E3EFCDA894085858358F3436FEEF5.jpg
    7C6E3EFCDA894085858358F3436FEEF5.jpg
    64 KB · Views: 79

dewdog

Reaction score
I'm no expert but it looks like a Globe jar lid to me. Its a good one--probably worth up to $50 if you can find someone who just needs a lid for their jar.............

dewdog

Reaction score
You may be right. These lids are harder to find than the jar. Redbook lists them as 50% of value of the complete jar. Its worth whatever someone is willing to pay.

bottlenutboy

Reaction score
ok well look at it like this you have a jar with a broken lid you paid $50 for it would you pay another $50 so it would be worth $70or $80 ? i know i wouldn't its just too much i guess if someone got a really really great deal on one with a broke lid and you had the only one there was to buy then maybe dewdog is right its only worth what someone is willing to pay although if you find one idiot who will pay 10 times what it is worth then are they all of a sudden worth 10 times as much? i wouldnt think so

dewdog

Reaction score
The last two amber Globe lids on ebay brought thirty something and forty something--pretty good just for a lid.........................

bobclay

Reaction score
There could be many reasons for someone to pay more than what we consider the 'norm' for a jar or closure. Perhaps they dug the jar. Perhaps they found one in Grandma's celler but they cracked the lid trying to clean it. If they had little or nothing in the jar itself, over paying to get the lid still leaves them with a bargain.