Any info on Players soda bottle?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

emmett

Reaction score
This was excavated in the 70s in Atlanta. I'm a student working on dating bottles from the collection it's in and making an online archive of them.
All I can really find is that it was bottled by Red Rock, you can see it on the mint ones listed online (2nd picture from ebay). But I can't find any ads, or a date range of production, location etc. The one picture of a full bottle shows it as an orange colored drink, but I'd also like to confirm that it was orange flavored (Red rock now makes a peach flavored drink that's orange colored so who knows).
There is this one website but it has no sources and reverse searching the images finds nothing. http://www.tazewell-orange.com/redrockappa.html
Would really appreciate if anyone has any knowledge on this brand. Of course, I'll credit you on the archive website.

Attachments

• c6373808dae005e2cad884c494787988.jpg
    c6373808dae005e2cad884c494787988.jpg
    155.6 KB · Views: 78
  • s-l1600.jpg
    s-l1600.jpg
    216 KB · Views: 77

CanadianBottles

Reaction score
Do you have access to the bottle yourself? It likely has a date code on the base if you can post a picture of that. Otherwise, the phrase "Over 62 years of Red Rock quality" is very specific, and makes me think that the bottle dates from 1947, if the founding date of 1885 on Wikipedia is correct. I'm pretty surprised that someone dug that up in the 1970s, and that it made it into an archive. That's like someone today digging up trash from the 1990s and archiving it.