black glass blown in mold

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

nanaof3

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a newbie to this forum, which I think is exceptionally awesome; the forum, not me[:D] All that aside, I have come across a black glass bottle and was wondering if someone might know something about it, ie. approx. when made, what was it's contents and is it worth anything? I'm new to bottles as a whole and what knowledge (although limited) I have, has come from searching the net. What has been most helpful has been all the info i have gleaned from this site[;)] [:eek:]Sorry about the size of this one.
Next pic will be cropped better.

Gd93803.jpg

Attachments

• Gd93803.jpg
    Gd93803.jpg
    78.3 KB · Views: 77

woody

Reaction score
Actually, your picture came out nice. It isn't too small or too big.
I believe your bottle is a black glass ale or beer bottle from the 19th century, from the ones I've dug.
Unless they're embossed they don't have much value but are a nice old bottle that displays well in your collection.

nanaof3

Reaction score
Thanks, I weighed it on my husbands postage scale and it weighs 1lb 4 oz. and stands 9 inches tall. here is a pic of the base. The glass is quite thick, and held up to the light looks to be olive green to brown.

Ge94532.jpg

Attachments

• Ge94532.jpg
    Ge94532.jpg
    69.4 KB · Views: 65

kumtow

Reaction score
Hi Nanaof3,