brass door latch?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Ye Olde Prospector

Reaction score
Dug one of these brass door latches in Kennebunk,Me. Gave it to a friend that likes dogs, a couple years later. The next weekend I was digging a dump in Bath,Me (60 Mi away) and found this one, identical to the first. Strange. Would like to know more about it. Age,value or where it might have been made or if anyone else has dug these.

Ig13580.jpg

Attachments

• Ig13580.jpg
    Ig13580.jpg
    71 KB · Views: 97

diggerjeff

Reaction score
that is one high dollar piece of door hardware. i have been collecting this type of stuff for 15 years and you just dont see this quality of hardware. i believe this a a door pull for a door bell, but would need to see the back. dont give it away unless you are going to give it to me!!lol!! a quess at value would be between 150.00 and 300.00!! i will look it up when i get home tonight and try to give you a little more info. dont clean it with anything !! it is an outstanding piece from the 1880's.

Ye Olde Prospector

Reaction score
Hi Diggerjeff
Here is a picture of the back. Rod pivots on iron pin, still moves freely. Appears both pieces are cast, the top part of plate behind dogs heard has what appears to be a lions head. Guessing this might be of English (colonial) origin maybe? Let me know what you find out. Thanks.
Cliff

Om34549.jpg

Attachments

• Om34549.jpg
    Om34549.jpg
    64.2 KB · Views: 91

diggerjeff

Reaction score
im fairly sure this was made in the us. were did you digit from? i have seen it listed in my victorian hardware books. it is a beauty!! i want to say it was made by russel and irwin co. it this point i am uncertian if it is a bell pull or door latch. i will get more info. when i get home tonight!!

Ye Olde Prospector

Reaction score